## **County Democrats Announce Candidate Endorsements**

CONTACT: Robin Torello

510/537-6390

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 15, 2012

**Hayward, California** – The Alameda County Democratic Party has endorsed the following candidates for the November 6, 2012 local elections:

Supervisor Dist. 2 (short term) – Hon. Richard Valle

Alameda Councilmember - Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft, Jeff Cambra

Albany Councilmember – Hon. Peggy Thomsen, Peter Maass, Nick Pilch Albany Treasurer – Hon. Kim Denton

Berkeley Mayor – Hon. Tom Bates

Berkeley Councilmember – Dist. 2, Hon. Darryl Moore; Dist. 3, Hon. Max Anderson; Dist. 5, Hon. Laurie Capitelli; Dist. 6, Hon. Susan Wengraf

Berkeley Rent Stab. Bd. Comm. – Hon. Asa Dodsworth, Hon. Igor Tregub, Alejandro Soto–Vigil

Dublin Mayor – Hon. Tim Sbranti

Fremont Mayor – Hon. Bill Harrison Fremont Councilmember – Hon. Suzanne Chan, Vinnie Bacon

Oakland City Attorney – Hon. Barbara Parker
Oakland Councilmember– At-large, Hon. Rebecca Kaplan; Dist. 1, Daniel Kalb; Dist. 5,
Mario Juarez; Dist. 7, Hon. Larry Reid

Pleasanton Mayor – Hon. Cheryl Cook-Kallio Pleasanton Councilmember – Erlene DeMarcus

San Leandro Councilmember – Dist. 2, Hon. Ursula Reed; Dist. 6, Hon. Jim Prola

Union City Councilmember – Hon. Jim Navarro

Chabot-Las Positas CCD Trustee – Area 1, Hon. Marshall Mitzman; Area 3, Hon. Arnulfo Cedillo; Area 5, Hon. Carlo Vecchiarelli; Area 7, Hon. Barbara Mertes

Ohlone CCD Trustee - Area 1 (short term), Hon. Vivien Larsen Ohlone CCD Trustee Area 2 – Hon. Greg Bonaccorsi, Hon. Teresa Cox, Kevin Bristow

Peralta CCD Trustee – Area 1, Hon. Bill Withrow; Area 2, Meredith Brown; Area 4, Hon. Nicky Gonzales Yuen; Area 6, Hon. Cy Gulassa

Alameda USD Director – Hon. Patricia Spencer, Barbara Kahn

Albany USD Director – Hon. Patricia Low, Hon. Ron Rosenbaum

Berkeley USD Director – Hon. Beatriz Levya-Cutler, Judy Appel

Castro Valley USD Director – Hon. John Barbieri, Hon. Jo A. S. Loss, Charmaine Banther

Dublin USD Director – Hon. Amy Miller

Fremont USD Director – Desrie Campbell, Hon. Ann Crosbie, Reshma Karipineni

Hayward USD Director – Sara Lamnin, John Taylor, Annette Walker

Livermore Valley Joint USD Director – Thomas McLaughlin

New Haven USD Director – Hon. Michael Ritchie

Newark USD Director – Hon. Jan Crocker, Hon. Ray Rodriguez

Oakland USD Director – Dist. 1, Hon. Jody London; Dist. 3, Richard Fuentes; Dist. 5, Mike Hutchinson; Dist. 7, Hon. Alice Spearman

San Leandro USD Director – At-large, Jason Toro; Dist. 1, Corina Lopez; Dist. 3, Vince Rosato; Dist. 5, Hon. Diana Prola

San Lorenzo USD Director – Penny Peck, Syed "Tony" Shah

A.C. Transit Director – At-large, Hon. H. E. Christian Peeples; Ward 1, Hon. Joe L. Wallace; Ward 2, Hon. Greg Harper

Alameda County Water District Director – Hon. Marty Koller

BART Director – Dist. 3, Rebecca Saltzman; Dist. 5, Hon. John McPartland; Dist. 7, Maria Alegria

Castro Valley Sanitary District Director – Hon. Daniel M. Akagi, Hon. Timothy McGowan, Hon. David Sadoff

City of Alameda Health District Director – Hon. Jordan Battani, Hon. J. Michael McCormick

East Bay MUD Director – Ward 5, Hon. Doug Linney; Ward 6, Hon. William B. Patterson

East Bay Regional Park District Director – Ward 1, Hon. Whitney Dotson; Ward 2, Hon. John Sutter; Ward 4, Hon. Doug Siden

Eden Township Healthcare District Director – Vinod Sawhney

Hayward Area Recreation & Park District Director – Hon. Louis M. Andrade, Hon. Minane Jameson, Hon. Dennis Waespi

Livermore Area Recreation & Park District Director – Hon. Beth Wilson

Oro Loma Sanitary District Director – Shelia Young

Washington Township Health District Director – Hon. Pat Danielson

These are the only official Democratic Party local candidate endorsements in Alameda County for the November 6 election and have been made under authority granted to the local Democratic Party by the California Democratic Party.

###